I n f r a S t o n e

About Us

Blackstone Category 8

Blackstone Category 8

Blackstone Category 8, or CAT8, is the latest iteration of Ethernet cables. They are designed for high-speed data centers rather than for residential or office networks. Here are the main features of CAT8:

1. Speed and Distance: CAT8 cables can support a speed of 25 Gb/s (Gigabits per second) to 40Gb/s over a distance of up to 30 meters. This is a significant improvement over previous categories.

2. Frequency: They operate at a bandwidth of 2000MHz (megahertz), also a significant increase from previous categories.

3. Shielding: CAT8 cables usually come with a shield for each twisted pair of wires, as well as an overall cable shield to protect the signals from crosstalk and electromagnetic interference.

4. Connectors: CAT8 uses standard RJ45 connectors but can also support GG45 (GigaGate45) or TERA connectors.

5. Cost: CAT8 is more expensive than previous categories due to its superior performance. It's mostly used in professional and industrial environments where high data transfer speed is required.

6. Standards: CAT8 is compliant with the ANSI/TIA 568-C.2-1 standard, which is the latest standard for Category 8 Ethernet cable. 

Remember, while CAT8 offers superior performance, it's important to ensure that the rest of your network (routers, switches, etc.) can support these high speeds, otherwise, you won't see the benefit of the increased capabilities.


Go To Top